Beautiful Nature of Vanadzor (Note 8)

Last night just before I went to sleep my cell phone started to vibrate. It was the first call to my new Armenian phone number that I bought yesterday with the help of my Armenian friends. It was my friend Vahe!  I was happy, but what could have happened at midnight? He offered me an amazing trip that I could not reject. He told about me to his relatives, who live in Vanadzor city, and they decided to invite me to their classic monthly picnic event. According to Vahe, I would get shocked after seeing the beauty of the nature in Vanadzor.  I had to delay my all plans about tomorrow due to unexpected invitation. I could reach the top of Cascade in Yerevan, look the brilliant scenery of Ararat Mountain and go to Tsitsernakaberd later. Maybe I’ll stay in Armenia until 24th of April.

I woke up very early and did a little research about Vanadzor on internet. It was previously known as Kirovakan during the Soviet era and as Karakilisa during the Tsarist period. Vanadzor, the capital of Lori, is located 128 km north of Yerevan at a height of 1425 meters above sea level. Wow! Then I understood why Vahe said that ‘Don’t forget to bring your jacket ‘.

I met with Vahe at 8’o clock to go with him in his car. It took us 2 hours to reach Vanadzor. We understood from sceneries that nature had changed. We first walked around the city center. In a building next to the funfair I witnessed the  working of a dance group which name is ‘Tatev’. I had a chance to watch  a little lovely boys and girls dancing. The manager of dance group was so hospitable, I was impressed. Vahe stopped the car many times to show me must-see places in Vanadzor on the way to the picnic place. And, I was listening  to Vahe admiringly. When we reached the picnic place I felt the clean air in my lungs. That was amazing! All around was green. There was also running water just near us. I wish not to see any garbage, people should always protect these beauties! The table was ornamented with various meats and cheese, and of course also there was “oghi”. After the meal, we took a tour in wonderful nature. I saw a very different organism that I have never seen, it looked like an insect. If my biologist network friend Arek was here, he would tell me something about it. We left Vanadzor with good memories.

Thanks to Vahe I spent unforgettable day in nature of Vanadzor. I am happy that I had a chance to see different parts of Armenia but I think I have to go sleep now.

(Arek Kendirli- AEGEE-Ankara)

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment